Friday, August 17, 2012

Unfortunate Events.

So as you might have noticed...I disappeared!

Unfortunately my Dell laptop of two years decided to break. Now I no longer have a computer. Right now I'm posting via kindle fire. I tried to use mobile blogger but it sadly decided it wanted to post gibberish.

If you're wondering about my reviews...I lost everything...All of my books that were sent to me...All of my written reviews that I was going to post....It's all gone.

This however does not mean that I will stop posting reviews. I will just simply start over. Things will be slow until I get another laptop so please bear with me. I will try to get my first new review done within a week.

Wish me luck! (Btw blogging on kindle is a pain in the bum. And also I do have a couple of books from an author that I will be able to review later on)

Sorry to those authors who's books I was not able to review.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Review. Book one of Moonstone series.




Moonstone (Unbidden Magic, #1)Moonstone by Marilee Brothers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


A sickly mom. A tiny house trailer. High school bullies and snarky drama queens. Bad-guy dudes with charming smiles. Allie has problems. And then there's that whole thing about fulfilling a magical prophecy and saving the world from evil. Geez. Welcome to the sad, funny, sometimes-scary world of fifteen-year-old Allie Emerson, who's struggling to keep her and her mom's act together in the small-town world of Peacock Flats, Washington. An electrical zap from a TV antenna sets off Allie's weird psychic powers. The next thing she knows she's being visited by a hippy-dippy guardian angel, and then her mysterious neighbor, the town "witch," gives her an incredible moonstone pendant that has powers only a good-hearted "Star Seeker" is meant to command. "Who, me?" is Allie's first reaction. But as sinister events begin to unfold, Allie realizes she's got a destiny to live up to. If she can just survive everyday life, in the meantime.


Marilee Brothers takes an interesting spin on the magical world in her novel Moonstone. Allie, a typical high school girl who doesn't have the best home life, is thrown into a world of magic on which she isn't prepared for. Challenges and regular life battles, Allie must figure out if she is wiling to live up to her destiny.

Allie the main character is actually a very likable person. It is hard to write about a character and have her not be overly strong nor be overly whimpy. She is very easy to relate to and is very believable. What I love about this character is that she doesn't automatically jump into situations and she actually thinks like the typical teenager. I don't know about you but I hate when a character just easily accepts things or has the personality of someone who existed a long time ago. Allie is everything you would imagine a girl her age to be which makes this novel easy to read and enjoyable.

Character interaction is another thing I liked about this novel. The way Allie's family treats her, the simple crush she has on her step-cousin who isn't related to her at all. How her relationship moves on with her love interest. The last is actually a big thing that I loved. I am simply tired of books rushing relationships between characters so it was refreshing to see that there are some that actually do take things slowly. It makes the novel more realistic and less likely to annoy people. Everything about the characters in this novel just worked and seemed to fit together perfectly. There was no confusion while reading this like I have had with some books.

The story-line for this novel was very interesting. I loved how Allie was basically poor and not exactly miss popular. I also loved how the magic was slowly introduced into the novel. Nothing really jumped around and the whole novel flowed smoothly. Also I'd like to point out that nothing in this novel felt rushed and that there was just enough action in several places to keep the reader interested. There was no point in this novel where I felt bored or could wait for some parts of it to be over. This was a great book to read and I enjoyed very minute of it.

Now this book was great but I should warn you. It was a very simple read it's meant for teens and it reads like it is exactly that. If you can look past that then I suggest you pick this book up and read it. :].





InkInk by S.J. Davis
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Sparrow stumbles between two worlds,
light and dark, love and hate, what is real
and what is in her mind.

When her mother dies on the Reservation,
Sparrow’s world is shadowed with anger
and narrowed by pain. The voices arrive,
but are they real? And how can a tattoo
make her stronger?


Ink by S.J. Davis was actually a good read but there were some issues I had with it. Davis uses the idea of the native american religion for the basis of her book. Spirit guides and native prophecies passed down through generations give this book a very interesting plot and world.

I feel like there is never enough novels based off of native american traditions and things like that. So I was extremely excited for the chance to read this. The description of the book sounded great and like something I wouldn't want to miss out on. I still feel this way even though throughout the whole book I felt lost until the end then it all became clear.

Instead of me breaking down the main character like I usually do I'm going to lump all the characters together. They were to me... Unfinished. Now why do they seem that way to me? I felt like the book jump straight into the story and didn't explain who people were and I was left in the dark with personalities and relationships. There was a couple of points where I felt like I missed weeks of interactions between characters because of how relationships jumped within the book. I felt like these characters could have been expanded and I could have loved them but I didn't feel a connection to any of them. These characters had the potential to be great but instead I was more excited about the plot which I also had issues with.

Now lets get to the plot...I LOVED the idea behind this book. It was great and creative. And I do want to read more. I am sad to say that the execution of the plot wasn't in my opinion...The best... Now don't get me wrong I enjoyed this book but I felt like a lot of things were left out and I literally felt lost throughout the book. I had to stop reading and pick it back up later several times. It jumped frequently and there were things in the book that were confusing. Everything is eventually explained towards the end but it doesn't lessen the confusion felt earlier in the book. It was more like "Why wasn't I told this before to prevent my headache?"

Now let me explain why I like this book. This book has the potential to be great..No scratch that..Fantastic. I feel like the author didn't take full advantage of such a wonderful story. But there is just something about this book that makes me want to read more despite all that it's lacking. It might be the hot spirit guide or just the idea of a magical tattoo. Or even just because it seems like it could be truly worth reading the rest of it later on. Who knows? But something grabbed my attention. I can at least give the book that much credit.

This book is very short only 80 pages long, but I think if you have time to waste and want a quick read you should pull this book out.

Friday, March 23, 2012

Finally here.



Matched (Matched, #1)Matched by Ally Condie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars


On her seventeenth birthday, Cassia meets her Match. Society dictates he is her perfect partner for life. Except he's not. In Cassia's society, Officials decide who people love. How many children they have. Where they work. When they die. But, as Cassia finds herself falling in love with another boy, she is determined to make some choices of her own. And that's when her whole world begins to unravel...

Matched is another dystopian novel where society controls the people and the people have little choice. This sounds just like The Giver and Delirium and even a few other choice dystopian novels. Now what makes Matched different from these others? I'll have to be honest.. There isn't much. When I read a novel I want to be surprised I want to read something that hasn't been done before. Don't get me wrong Matched is a good book but I just feel like this story has been written numerous amounts of times. Okay now that I have ranted let's get to the review.

Condie does take a different approach to the dystopian society by using match ceremonies. Making the match ceremonies the basis of the book really keeps it this novel from being too much like the others. Sure they have little choice on how they live or die but these ceremonies is what keeps the book going. Cassia is left the choice of choosing her best friend or following her heart. This book proves there are different types of loves and how it can catch people in the middle. Not only that but her choices ultimately lead to something a lot bigger than who she loves. The choices each person makes empowers the society but what happens when people stop making the choices expected of them?

I had mixed feelings about Cassia. I felt like through the book she was never truly her own person. She's constantly doing what people tell her and she's forever doing things for others and not herself. I get the whole wanting to make others feel better but the reason she left should have been for herself not because she made a promise and couldn't let such and such get hurt. It actually looks like she leaves for her own reasons but then she says some things that make it seem more like an obligation and that drives me crazy. I felt more attached to the other characters in the book than I did to her.

One thing I did like about the book was that there was a bigger picture other than Cassia's love life. I felt like I wanted to help these people have a choice in how they live and who they love. So thank you Ally Condie for you ability to take a story that has been written a million times and changing it and making it your own.

The reason I gave this book 3 stars (Well it really deserves 3.5) is because I feel like it could have been written differently than the other novels like it. I'm just tired of things being written over and over again. This book had a good plot it was just too like the others. Overall, this book was a good read to pass the time and if you like this type of dystopian novels I say go for it. I also recommend it for people who have yet to read a dystopian novel.

Review.



SeraphinaSeraphina by Rachel Hartman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty's anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.

Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen's Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.

In her exquisitely written fantasy debut, Rachel Hartman creates a rich, complex, and utterly original world. Seraphina's tortuous journey to self-acceptance is one readers will remember long after they've turned the final page." - Amazon description




Rachel Hartman takes a new spin on Dragons in her fantasy debut Seraphina. In a complex world where Dragons can disguise themselves as humans and where there is an unsteady truce; Hartman will leave you wanting to read more.

To begin with let me say...I just adore fantasy novels. A plus side to this novel is that it is YA and fantasy novels that are YA are hard to come by. Especially one that is well thought out and doesn't revolve around romance. Seraphina is exactly that; a YA Fantasy novel that is well written and doesn't leave you wanting to kick yourself because of the quick romance or the endless love triangles. The main character Seraphina is a young woman who gets sent to court. She was raised to blend in and not bring attention to herself. What is so good about this novel is that Seraphina tries to blend in but finds herself in a situation where blending in is the opposite of what she wants and who she is. She goes from a girl who just does the bare minimum and turns into a strong young woman who will do whatever it takes to help. What is even better is the author was able to show gradual growth in the character's personality rather than what most YA novels do nowadays; which is shove them in a situation right away that changes them. Serpahina is exactly how you would imagine a person to be in her given situation. She questions things and doesn't jump in right away without thinking. She also puts other's welfare before her own. How could this character not get any better? She's perfect in the sense that she is realistic. For her to be realistic in a fantasy novel,just shows this author knows how to build characters, and boy does she do that well.

The Prince is...Amazing. What I love about his character is that he isn't exactly charming and he has his negative qualities. He has a weird mixture of cockiness and selfconscienceness; Which you would think wouldn't work. But it does... It does so well that I automatically fell in love with his character. He pretends that what people say or how they see him doesn't matter but it really does. He loves those people who he protects and helps guide them. He is the perfect Prince who you can't help but love.

When you picture a world full of dragons you expect giant flying lizards who hoard wealth and knowledge. That is exactly what is in this novel but there is a spin on it. Imagine a country of dragons who can make themselves appear human. Imagine prejudice between humans and dragons and throw them in an uneasy truce. Imagine where it is illegal for dragons to feel emotion...To feel human. This novel makes you take a look at how exactly you view others and how they might feel about it. Think of the strictist rules, which breaking could equal death or worse...Surgery to remove emotion and memory. This world that Hartman has created is complex, exciting and really makes you think. What if I were in that situation? What if I wasn't allowed to love? Experience? Care? What if I had to hide because of who I am? This world full of false peace and unexpected friendships is exactly what the doctor ordered for a fantasy novel.

Now now...If you're thinking "I really do not want to read a YA novel.", consider this....Seraphina does not lack anything an adult fantasy novel has...It's possible it may even have more. The whole novel is focused on the world she created and the bigger picture. Sure there is a little romance but the romance isn't exactly YA or adult..it's just normal. So if you're looking for a fantasy novel that has morals and doesn't focus too heavily on romance then this is the book for you. It's a book that anyone can pick up and read... And Ultimately enjoy. I for one cannot wait for the next novel to come out. And I'm sure if you read Serpahina you will feel the same way (Impatience for the next book).

*********************************************************************************


Did this review before Matched. I have my reasons. ;p. Matched will come next for sure though. I do not plan on doing that mystery book from last month I just couldn't read it x.x. Hopefully I will be able to later on but for now it's a no go.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Monday, March 12, 2012

Review.



Angel Evolution (The Evolution Trilogy, #1)Angel Evolution by David Estes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Angel Evolution- the first book in the young adult fantasy trilogy: The Evolution Trilogy... When Taylor meets Gabriel at college, she is in awe of the subtle glow that surrounds him. No one else, not even her best friend, seems to notice. Something about him scares her. Is all as it appears? While Taylor struggles for answers, she finds herself in the middle of a century old war centered on one miraculous revelation: evolution.

Angel Evolution takes a new spin on the idea of Angels and Demons. David Estes shows his creativity by taking the age old war of the two and shaping it into a whole different reality. I am usually skeptical about books that are about Angels because I feel that they all have the same story-line. "Angel is on mission to save/help and has to prevent themselves from falling from grace" This book was nothing like that. I was surprised that anyone could come up with the idea that David did and I am so glad he did because boy is it great.

The age old war of Angels and Demons is believe it or not...Reversed! And! To twist it up some more...It isn't an age old battle after all! My oh my, never had I thought I would see a book take this direction. Angels are evil and demons are good? (Well not exactly but this is the overall idea...There's always always good and bad apples) This just shows you can't judge a book by it's cover. (Ha bad pun.) I was afraid while starting this book that I would be annoyed or bored by some of the ideas. I was greatly proved wrong. The ideas he created were well thought out and different. I am excited to see where the other books in his series will take me.

The characters were good but I do have some complaints. I found Taylor to be annoying to some degree. Her personality jumped around too much for my liking. One minute she's Miss independent and the next she's bent out of shape over some guy.I also felt her relationship with rushed. This occurs a lot in YA novels so it is to be expected. I guess my annoyance isn't exactly with the author it just annoys me when a character is so set in her lifestyle and is quick to let go of her ideas. (This happens with real people and it annoys me as well.) One thing I'd like to point out and thank the author for... The lack of a love triangle. Thank you for finding a way to incorporate a new male character in the book without making him fall for and fight for the attentions of the lead female. It is so refreshing to sit down and read a novel where there isn't drama over who the lead female is going to choose. That gets annoying after a while. Overall the characters were great, although semi-annoying.

How do I feel about this book as a whole? It took me a little bit to get into reading this book. I'm used to books being more fast-paced and straight forward. Even though it did take me a little bit I never had the urge to put the book down. This book spent a lot of time on character building and background information. However in order for it to be understandable this had to be done. He did a good job pulling this off while throwing in some action scenes in between so it didn't feel like I was waiting till the end of the book for anything to happen. It was a great read and I look forward to reading the rest of the series. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes YA paranormal or YA books in general.

*********************************************************************************
MATCHED REVIEW COMING SOON

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Review. Monthly book list.

A day late, but never fear my review is here!


The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins


My rating: 5 of 5 stars




In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.



Where to begin? First let me explain my dislike of Dystopian novels. I feel that they are on the verge of almost being SciFi but not exactly? A lot of them have things that are overly advanced or creatures that appear in the future. Which can be great if written about in the right way. I feel that a lot of authors overwrite when it comes to this so that you get a better feel of how things are but sometimes it's just too much. There are a few Dystopian novels here and there that I do like but mostly I just pick up books like these to pass the time. That is just me though. Now let's get on with the review.



This novel... What can I say? I honestly loved it. The things that happened in this novel I could actually see happening as a possible future. It was one of the more realistic of the Dystopian novels that I have ever read. The idea that North America could break up into little areas due to war. And that those areas are heavily governed is a simple and obvious idea but the author made it more than simple and took a spin on the obvious. The structure of the Panem Nation is very well done. Not only do you see how the government works but you also see how it effects the people in the districts. More so, the lowest of the lower class, district 12. The way the government is set up is practically a futuristic spin on an old idea of power. The idea that people who have conquered are somehow higher up in the food chain than others. Which is hard to write about in a dystopian novel without going to over the top with weird weapons or creatures.



The characters in this novel are on a whole other level. Katniss is a determined young woman who puts others first despite what it might do to her. She is not exactly brave but will do what she has to in order to survive and help others and her family survive. This unique personality for her character made it easy to really like her. She is sweet and innocent in her own way. She doesn't understand a lot about what's going to happen as well as how she will eventually interact with other characters. Which I believe makes her character more realistic and easier to compare ourselves to. The other characters in this novel are just as interesting as katniss and they each play a very important part in the novel and Katniss' life. I fell in love with some of the characters especially a little girl from a little later in the book. Brief some of the characters roles may have been in the book but that briefness didn't diminish them as a whole.



I am going to admit something that very RARELY happens. I cried. I cried for Katniss, I cried for the situation, I cried for the hunger games, I cried for the loss, the characters, everything as a whole. There was a breaking point for me in this novel where I literally hated the book for what it made me feel. I have never had that happen before. This novel was heartbreaking and I wanted to rip it up. I wanted to stop reading it entirely...But instead I pushed through the heartbreak and at the end of the book was I glad I did. This world in this novel, the way people are how they act, left me disgusted. Now just because I was disgusted and hated the book for making me cry doesn't mean that the novel was horrid. In fact it was opposite..It was Fantastic. I may have cried and hated it but I was transfixed in what would happen next. I was glued to the pages and lost in this world. And despite the heartbreak I enjoyed every sad minute of this novel.



So for those of you who aren't afraid of the horrors that can come from human nature,who aren't afraid to maybe cry a little, who love dystopian novels, who love books in general. I suggest you read this novel, because this is an experience you will not regret.


**********************************************************************************

So I said I wouldn't have that big of a list. I lied...It turns out that I got approved for books on NetGalley quicker than I had thought. So I decided that I will post these books as a for sure thing for reviews and more than likely there will be no changes or additions to the list. Well maybe a couple of additions since an author asked me if I would review more of her novels (Which I agreed to do). I think I may even have more books from NetGalley that haven't even been approved yet. I forsee a long month of reviewing. Wish me luck.

March Book list:
Angel Evolution by David Estes
Halflings by Heather Burch
Torn by Stephani Guerra
The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda
I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You by Amy Carter
The Moonstone Series by Marliee Brothers. (4 books in series)
*****1-2 more books from an author and possibly a book from goodreads R2R*****


I will be working on linking all of my reviews so that you can go straight to them from the reviews page.

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Review x]. Updates.

BloodmaidenBloodmaiden by Christine E. Schulze


My rating: 5 of 5 stars




Zale. Gauthier. Varden. These three dynasties... They all sound like something out of an ancient, oriental myth or fairy tale. The concept of humans and dragons helping and living in harmony with one another, without fear. To me, that's exactly what they are. A distant dream only read of, whispered secretly, quietly yearned for. For, you see, I am the new Quelda of Tynan. These words echo the mystery, horror, and romance found within Schulze's fantasy novel. Along with her new husband, Chalom, Crislin must choose to embrace cruel tradition, run from it, or stand against it. The young couple's only hope is to rally the help of the three peaceful dragon dynasties of Sulaimon-but tradition is not on their side, even outside the realm of Tynan. The dragons outside Tynan's borders have been rumored as too stubborn and proud to believe their Tynanian brothers would commit such horrors as inflicted upon the Quelda. Gaining their aid is not a likely hope. Yet, any hope at all is valued in Tynan... If they are to stand a chance of bringing cruel tradition to a permanent end, Crisilin and Chalom must brave the constant, consuming blizzards of the Ever-white. They must brave the three dynasties and the challenges awaiting there. Together, they must convince the dragon emperors to allow them access to the shrines which house the sacred Aria - protective strands of music which may be able to disperse the evil from Tynan and unite the four dynasties of Sulaimon as a whole once again. Their only aid stems from a sprite whose moods are as unstable as her magic, a young minstrel, and a mysterious fox. Despite the odds, such plans are daring, dangerous, unprecedented, but fully possible - if they can escape the Wall first.- amazon/goodreads




Actual star rating is 4.5

This book was fantastic. A lot of fantasy novels leave you wishing there was more to them. This was not the case with Bloodmaiden. I was hooked on this book within the first page; which for me is very hard to do. I have read my fair share of novels including a fantasy but this was on a whole other level. Within this book is a magical world where let's face it...I'd kill to live there. Dragons and magic galore this book had it all. The world itself was very well thought out as well as the interactions in each area. You could easily see the differences of how everyone lived and no where was I left confused when they moved from place to place. I do however feel that it would have been better to see a little more of this world and the areas within it. It was a little rushed through but even though it was rushed the storyline wasn't hindered. It just would have been nice to see a little more.



The characters in this book were very unique and I absolutely loved them. They each had their own personalities that were very different from each other and the interactions between them were great. This goes along with the same idea of the world. I felt the character interactions were a bit rushed. I would have liked to know more about each character especially Crislin. There should have been a little more background to her character which would have made her a lot more likable (Not that she wasn't already). The same goes with the other characters. We learn bits and pieces about them, just enough to satisfy the story and keep it flowing but it would have been nice to know more.



The plot was very unique indeed. Different areas protected by dragons, where humans and dragons live in peace. One area with cruel traditions that shouldn't be there. These traditions are what drives the whole story and boy does it make for an interesting tale. A young girl and her friends there to save it all. How could it get any better? Oh I know! Throw in a few life lessons and riddles. (I just love a book with riddles in it). The ending of this novel really makes you think and actually apply it to how you as a person lives life. Which is very hard to throw into a fantasy novel and make it work. I felt that during the whole novel I was thinking "They should get what they deserve", and then Bam! The ending reminded me that I have a conscience. And then I sat there and thought about how many times I was quick to throw out such harsh judgement. Wow did I want to kick myself. But that's part of what makes this book as great as it was.



Okay, okay now you wonder why I gave this book 4.5 rather than the 5 stars that I technically gave it on goodreads? Well as I have mentioned before I felt like the story was rushed even though it did work for the book I just felt there could have been more. But!!! There was one thing that really bugged me. There was a few times that my attention was snapped out of this wonderful story because of things mentioned...Or shall I rather say places?.. What I mean is there's this beautiful world that I fell in love with then...It gets compared to china and russia is mentioned and places like that. So I end up reading that part over and I'm like "Whoa! is this place connected to our world somehow or was it just a couple of mistakes the author made while being so glued into writing this wonderful story?" So there we have it. The reason for my mind wandering during the story a bit. But seriously, I can excuse those mistakes just because to me this book was just that good. So if you don't mind those few mistakes and you seriously like fantasy novels then I suggest you read this because frankly... You won't be disappointed.

**********************************************************************************

Updates:


Okay I have a couple of books to read before I am caught up with this months book list. This month I have had others books to review that I didn't know I was going to review at the time of making the list. So because those books had to be done by a certain date I did them first. Hunger games review will be up sometime later today (After I get some sleep). I still have to read Matched and that horrid mystery book. *Le Sigh* I am hoping Matched is a lot better than people are claiming it to be.*Crosses fingers* I should be starting both books this weeks. Other news. I made an account on netgalley and requested some books. I hope that I will be able to review some of them and I have no clue when I will be able to find out. Hopefully soon. I will keep you guys updated. Also later today I will make a book list for March. This time I am going to plan ahead and do less books just in case I have unexpected reviews like I did this month. So that's about it Oh let me leave you with a pic of my darling cat.
Her name is Drusilla. She will be 1 years old this summer. Isn't she just adorable? And yes she's just as evil as her name.

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Reviews. Stopping some things for now.

My Enchanted LifeMy Enchanted Life by Laura Eno

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


An American teen finds herself thrust into a world she never knew existed in England's magical community of Wode Gate. While dealing with gnomes, a cranky dragon, murder and mayhem, Emma tries to cope with her unwanted duties as Sentinel and fights to get back home again. She finds that things aren't always what they seem, people aren't who they pretend to be, and someone wants her dead. The king of the underworld wants her too, but he may be the least of her problems as Emma struggles to control her powers—while losing her heart to a demon.- Amazon



My Enchanted life by Laura Eno was a fantastic read. Eno did a good job taking creatures and things that others have written about and made a whole new world within the modern world. Her main character Emma is the typical teenage girl whose life gets turned upside down by the death of a family member she has never met. Some of the situation at first seems unreal like how quickly she just up and leaves things behind and how she fast she takes to living in such a magical area. Also she seems to fall in love pretty fast which is becoming a habit within the YA book community. Emma however, is a strong, loving, and fun character. She goes through every obstacle just how you would imagine someone in her situation would. She isn't over the top like some characters in other books can be. She is a truly believable character. And I throughly enjoyed reading about her.



The other characters in the book make for a good spin on this magical world. One of the characters was hard to dislike even though he was highly prejudiced. He was a great character to have in the book because it made the story seem more realistic and showed major points that actually happen in the world. Like people being mistreated or judged based on what they are. There was a lesson to be learned from this and it is a great lesson. Now back to this character; I actually liked him. I think he sincerely believed he was doing the right thing. He may have been misguided in his beliefs but he was hard not to like (Even if he was a jerk).



Emma's love interest to me was kind of rushed. Their relationship seemed to happen instantly and I felt like it was almost thrown in as a way to continue the story to the next step. I mean it flowed I just felt that her relationship could have been lengthened. Also I liked the other characters in the book over the guy that Emma falls for. I feel like we don't know enough about him to really like or dislike him.



This book was a fun read. I enjoyed myself and felt like I was reading a modern day fairytale. I recommend it for people who like to read YA and like books that have a fairytale vibe to it.



**********************************************************************************
So I was doing quotes and introductions. But it turns out that I just don't have the time for it right now. Things have been hectic and it's been getting hard to stay on track. I will of course continue the reviews but the other two things will be postponed till a time I can actually get them done. Sorry about that.

Sunday, February 12, 2012

Bloodlines Review

BloodlinesBloodlines by Richelle Mead

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


When alchemist Sydney is ordered into hiding to protect the life of Moroi princess Jill Dragomir, the last place she expects to be sent is a human private school in Palm Springs, California. But at their new school, the drama is only just beginning.



Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, Bloodlines explores all the friendship, romance, battles and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive - this time in a part-vampire, part-human setting where the stakes are even higher and everyone's out for blood.- goodreads





I'd like to begin with explaining how much I dreaded reading this book. I am a Vampire Academy fan and i was scared that this book would ruin my ideas of the VA world and the people in it. Also I was afraid that I would be highly disappointed and would regret reading the book altogether. This ultimately made me postpone reading this book.






While reading this book I really didn't like the idea of Sydney being the main character. I really didn't take a liking to her in the VA series so I was skeptical. However I was proved wrong about her. Sydney grew on me and I like her better than Rose. I like that Sydney is strong but has normal everyday issues. She struggles constantly with things that are different from Rose who basically was a badass killing machine. Sydney is smart and she takes the time to think before she acts which is refreshing when reading a book like this. It's hard to have a character that is strong and smart without being too much of either. Sydney has her flaws and that makes her character appealing. I really enjoyed reading about her world that is connected to vampires but different. It gives you an idea how others think and view things.






The story line to this book was fantastic. It started off where The Last Sacrifice left off. In this spinoff series we are able to see how everything is after the initial series left off. The minor characters from the VA series are changed into Major characters and vise versa. This changes the perspective of everything that has happened and about how it changed other people's lives not just Rose's and Dimitri's. It was nice to learn about other people for a change.






This book was definitely worth reading and was just as good as the books from VA. If you like books about vampires and other paranormal things then I suggest you read this book. It even takes a new spin on the VA series and leaves you wanting more.







View all my reviews

Saturday, February 11, 2012

Meeting Destiny review/ Update.



Meeting Destiny (Destiny #1)Meeting Destiny by Nancy Straight

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Lauren is visited in her dreams for years by a stranger claiming to be her destiny. Destiny becomes reality when paths cross during a failed robbery attempt. Lauren and the stranger experience chemistry like no other and now her doubt over her long time relationship with her high school sweetheart is not her only secret . . .someone else knows about her keen intuition and sixth sense. A mysterious clairvoyant seeks Lauren out and tells her not only of her life now but what the future may hold. Soon Lauren is in the middle of a murder investigation and a questionable friendship with the key suspect. Law enforcement, friends and family are concerned for Lauren but unfortunately they are unaware of the true danger . . .Sinister forces are at work and will stop at nothing to destroy Lauren’s abilities. -Amazon





I really wanted to give this book five stars but really I could barely bring myself to give it the four star rating. It starts off exciting yet it gets to be quite confusing. It starts to become clearer as the book goes along but I felt like the author sort of just jumped right in and I was trying to puzzle out what was happening. Looking past that, I had an issue with the main character. I felt like the character had too much common sense to pursue her relationship the way she did. I get that you either have a connection with a person or you don't but this felt rushed. Despite these things I pushed through the book. There's just something about this book that made me keep reading even if it was only out of curiosity of what would happen next. Boy am I glad I continued to read. Lauren despite her leaping head first into relationships actually kept this book flowing. Usually I get bored with characters like her but somehow...It just worked. This book really surprised me. It seems to be centered around her and her destiny but right towards the end of the book the author puts a twist you would never believe and oh man did I have mixed feelings about it. One moment I was like "Gah! Right when I was starting to get a hang of this book you had to throw this at me!" Then the next I was thinking "I really want the next book just so I can find out what happens!". Then I was trying to decide how I accidently fell in love with a book that I hated at first. My reason for being iffy about giving it even the four star rating was...I hated this book from the start..But! When I finished the book I was able to go from hating it into loving it. This book has it's minor problems for me to where the characters and the relationships between them annoyed me to no end. I am not disappointed that I have read this book in the least. It just goes to show that some books, despite disliking them in the beginning, can turn into little gems. As a warning this book does take a little bit of patience to read but it is worth dragging through.




*****************Update*****************
So I have been slacking on my blogging. I didn't do a quote on friday or my tuesday introductions. Tuesday intros will start this week and I will be posting a quote along with it to make up for friday. I have been swamped with things to do and book reading and I am catching up slowly. I should be back on track this week. Another book review will be posted tomorrow or monday.

Friday, February 3, 2012

The Culling by J.C. Andrijeski



This book was not on my list for this month but I was given the opportunity by the author to review it. And boy I am I glad I was able to. :].

The Culling (The Slave Girl Chronicles, #1)The Culling by J.C. Andrijeski

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


"Jet is a 19-year-old skag, one of the humans still living free on Earth following an invasion of creatures called the Nirreth. Squatting in the ruins of Vancouver, Jet and her family eke out an existence underground, hiding from the culler ships. No one knows where the ships take the people they take, but they never return. When a culler finds Jet, she may discover the truth the hard way...and end up living among the very creatures that have enslaved her." Amazon Description



This book is just...Amazing. Andrijeski takes a new spin on dystopian by throwing aliens into the mix and boy does it work. This book does have a hunger games vibe going on but!!! It is definitely different. The only thing remotely like hunger games is the fighting arena and from the looks of it that's not even close. Now I mention this because I feel that author had a similar idea but went about it in a whole different manner. The idea of the whole book actually reminds me of ancient Greece more than anything. Sort of like the whole gladiator fights and how they were practically second class citizens. I know I'm using two different descriptions but thats the only way to describe the amazing thought put into this book. The character Jet... She's strong and determined and could basically look anything in the face if she had to. She also has her weaknesses but she's the type of character that don't let others see it. This just makes her character more interesting. The plot twists with the other characters of this book was just... Unexpected. Now just because they were unexpected doesn't mean they weren't good. They were great and made me keep turning the pages to find out more. The author basically made earth seem like a whole other world. Like one moment you picture how cities would look once abandoned and then the next you get this whole new place that was like another world on earth. The Alien invaders were also well thought out. The way they look, how they act, the depth of some of them that you don't expect. It made me go from disliking the Aliens to actually loving them. This book was great and I suggest if you like strong female characters, dystopian novels,aliens, and even young adult books in general; then you should read this book. I honestly can't wait for the sequel.



View all my reviews

Favorite quotes fridays #1



Divergent by Veronica Roth




"...I think it’s important to protect people. To stand up for people. Like you did for me. That’s what the Dauntless are supposed to do right? That’s what courage is. Not...hurting people for no reason." ~Al p. 190

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Grey eyes by B. Alston



Grey Eyes (The Forever Trilogy, #1)Grey Eyes by B. Alston

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


15 year old Anastasia Adams has spent her entire life on run. She and her mother have never spent more than 18 months in any one location, often times leaving with just the clothes on their backs. Despite the havoc that this is wreaking on Ana's social and academic life, her mother offers no explanation as to why it is they're constantly moving, or even what it is they're running from. But that all changes one night in the woods of Pelion, SC--the night the terror catches up with them.



Fearing her mother dead, and having barely escaped with her own life, Ana is whisked away to world of privilege and tradition. It's a fairytale come to life. The poor girl used to living out of a suitcase is now a resident of one of the most exclusive addresses in the world. The people there adore her and she catches the eye of a young guardian who sees her as a refreshing change to the girls he's grown up with.



If only they could find her mother. If only she knew the consequences of being born a "conjurer." If only she knew who that green eyed stranger was, the stranger who'll tell her about a past too romantic, and too tragic to be real. In the end, she'll have to choose between the boy who has captured her heart and the stranger she can feel down in her soul, assuring at least one of them an almost certain death.








B. Alston's Grey Eyes is a one of a kind book. She takes a new and different spin on vampires and it's fantastic. The plot was something new altogether and it is more creative than a lot of Vampire books that are published today. Anastasia gets tossed into a world where she is treated a royalty and I believe her reaction to her situation would be the normal reaction of a normal person. It's hard to make characters realistic in novels with Vampires or other paranormal things. The author did a good job in doing this. However I did have an issues with the character's relationships with her two love interests. I felt like she was thrown into romance without knowing either of them and that she fell too fast for them. It reminded me slightly of Twilight. The romance was just way too fast to be normal or taken seriously. One of the romantic situations makes a little sense but I still feel like she leapt into it too fast. Other than the extremely fast romantic relationships I honestly thought the book was great. Her relationships with the other characters kept the story flowing and interesting. There was issues with grammar and spelling but that was easy to look over once I was immersed into the book. As a warning I must tell you that the book was hard to get into at first but after a few pages it started to grab my attention. This book overall was a good read despite a few problems. If you don't mind quick "twilight" relationships and some issues with the writing then I suggest you go read this book. This is the first book of a trilogy and is also free on amazon. However the other two books are not free but they are worth the buy.

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Updates, Monthly review list, Weekly ideas, Randomness



***First off I'd like to thank the people who have started to follow my blog. It really means a lot to me. And it also helps that I'm now not just talking to myself on here. Yay for followers!***

Now down to business.

     Sometime this week the review for Grey Eyes will be up hopefully by tuesday (Hopefully). I am working on reading a book right now for a read 2 review on goodreads. That will most likely be the next review up after Grey Eyes. (Excellent book btw).  Also a new change will be made to my reviews. *Dun dun dun* I plan on writing them in a more professional manner. They will still have the positives and negatives that my reviews now have, but I hope to have them flow a bit better and play off of each other, so that the review isn't so split up. Oh! Before I forget.... I will be reading and reviewing a book (Don't want to name it yet) that I have had issues getting into because the beginning reminds me of a movie/book. I have tried to read this book 3 times but I will push myself to actually get past the first chapter this mystery book review will be posted on the last week of february.  (Wish me luck on reading it). If you're wondering why I don't want to name the book it is because...I found that people actually love this book and that I actually truly want to give it a chance without having to feel bad about not being able to read it before. Now on we go with the monthly list:


Review List for February:
Meeting Destiny by nancy Straight
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
Crave by  

*Mystery Book*
Plus any  books that I might have to read 2 review on goodreads.

**Weekly Ideas**


So I was thinking I might do Favorite quotes Fridays. And introduction tuesdays. The first one is pretty obvious but Introduction Tuesdays I will post a link to a book that is on Wattpad. This book will be one I have read but I will not review it. I merely want to introduce a book that you might have otherwise never noticed just because it isn't published. Favorite quote fridays will start this coming friday but Introduction Tuesdays will not start this Tuesday but rather the week after. Hopefully you guys like my ideas :].

Now time for randomness.


So I've noticed that lately I've been posting strictly about books. I mean I love books and this is a blog about books but it can be boring right? Well, I'd like to discuss what my friend and I did last night. We basically stayed up till 7 am trying to find our celebrity look-a-likes and a couple of look-a-likes for some of our friends. Finding a look-a-like is harder than you think. Like I found out I look like actresses from the 30's-50's and that I look most like Lucille Ball and basically nothing like any modern day actresses. On top of that we thought we'd liven it up and find our opposite sex look-a-likes.... I look like... Erik von Detten *Gasp*. On top of that we went to websites like myheritage and we uploaded our pictures to see who these websites thought we looked like. I had an abundance of....Men. Boy was that funny and also.. A little alarming.. I got a 78% match for Rob Schneider.  Now I know I look nothing like him but...It certainly had me trying to look for similarities.  This was intitially my reaction:

Photobucket
Bahahahahaha I can't believe I got all guys! And Rob Schneider on top of that!!!!


Photobucket
....Wait does this mean I look like a man *Checks mirror*


I do things like this a lot. It's always great to find fun in the simple things. x].


On another note...These crab ragoons I am eating are delicious.... Now it's time to go Play some Star Ocean on PS2.

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep

Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy, #1)Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Summary: Gwen Frost is an outsider at Mythos Academy, a school of myths, magic and warrior whiz kids, where even the lowliest geek knows how to chop off somebody's head with a sword. Gwen is an outsider both to the students of the Academy and the rest of the world. But when her gift of psychometry - the ability to know an object's history just by touching it reveals dark undercurrents and danger afoot, she has no choice but to get involved.


The Good The thing I love about this book is the author managed to use a boarding school and made it interesting without taking the Vampire Academy route. Sure gwen trains and all that jazz but what makes it so great is that she's just average most of the time. It makes it realistic. Because let's face it... Not every girl can just jump into action and automatically be good at what she's doing. I love the way mythology was used in this book. The author didn't try to change it to fit the story she instead used what everyone knew and wrote a story around it and modernized it without it being exactly too modern. If that confuses you then you'll just have to read the book to find out. The characters overall are great. None of them were overly annoying. You end up falling in love with some of the characters after you realize that they aren't who they seem to be. Everyone in this book has depth and it makes this a great read.

The Bad Honestly I can usually find something to nitpick at in a book but this is one of the few where I found nothing wrong with it.

Overall Opinion I loved this book. It's not every day you can find a mythology based book that doesn't ruin the myths but also has it's own story line. If you liked Vampire academy or house of night any of those supernatural/paranormal boarding school books then I suggest you go out and read this one. You won't be disappointed.

View all my reviews

The Iron King By Julie kagawa (Last review of the night)



The Iron King (Iron Fey, #1)The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Summary: Meghan Chase is a geeky pig farmer's step daughter. Her real father disappeared before her eyes when she was just six years old. Ever since she has always felt off and has only managed to have one friend. Her best friend Robbie forever the prankster has a few secrets that he will have to let Meghan in on because these secrets...Ultimately are about her. Meghan Chase is...The daughter of a faerie king. Between her best friend and the dark stranger who seems to be watching her from afar Meghan's life gets turned into a roller coaster of love and war. How far will she go to save those she loves and the very people who changed her life from a mysterious evil?



The Good: Julie Kagawa takes a different spin on the mythical fey that everyone has read about. The world she creates is fantastic and the characters have depth.Meghan is the average girl who shows she has a lot more to her than people seem to believe. Her best friend is a famous fey prankster who is easy to fall in love with as a character. Her love interest is a dark brooding fey who you can't help but admire. The twists and turns in this book kept me on my toes and I just couldn't put the book down till I had finished reading it. And even after that I went out and bought the rest of the series.



The Bad: *Sigh* I only have one complaint that I will not mention here. Because it gives the rest of the series away. It has to do with a certain favorite character of mine not getting the spotlight he deserves. But!!!! There was absolutely nothing wrong with this book.. Actually it's one of my favorite books that I reread constantly.



Overall Opinion: Fantastic book and series I suggest if you enjoy faeries and the idea of a new world (Fey world) then go out and buy this series... Seriously.. Go do it...Now. You couldn't get any better YA novels that portray the fey and their world such as this series has. This one is ultimately in my opinion..The best.







View all my reviews




******Other reviews coming soon******

Unicorn Bait by S.A. Hunter

Unicorn BaitUnicorn Bait by S.A. Hunter

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Summary Naomi has come across a unicorn while going through her grandfather's things. In an attempt to clean it she accidently transports herself to another world where there is a battle going on. A witch finds her and says she will help...But Naomi had no idea her definition of help really meant husband and boy is Naomi pissed. Left by the angry with and stuck with her scary husband she has to find a way back home. Her only way to do that is to find the very things that brought her here... Unicorns.



The good The characters were amazing. I loved Naomi and her scary husband. Their relationship was amusing. She basically hates the idea that she got stuck marrying him and he has a few secrets that are surprising but make for an interesting and humorous relationship. They are both very stubborn and pretty much will do what they want. And the witch...She was by-far the best character. She is the most meddlesome person I have ever had the pleasure of reading about. Another good thing about this book is..The sex in it isn't over the top. I usually have issues with reading adult novels because sometimes authors go as I like to call it "Sex Happy". I like to read a book that has romance and even a little sex but not over the top making you blush and looking over your shoulder to make sure no one notices what you're reading. But this book is just right. Not enough to make you sneak glances around you but just enough that you're satisfied that you aren't reading a children's novel. Also the ending of this book tied up nicely to where you wouldn't even expect that there will be a sequel.



The Bad Having to wait for the sequel after being satisfied about the ending then finding out that there will be more! That to me is frustrating.





Overall Opinion Amazing book. And believe it or not... it is...FREE on amazon. So go download it... Now. Oh another thing...I will try to sit here patiently waiting for this sequel... But I can't make any promises.





View all my reviews

Update

Boy have I been lagging behind....I meant to Have the Legacy review done a while ago but I just couldn't bring myself to sit down to write it..I also have to write reviews for the other books.. Which I have already read so I'll try to get those up asap. Might post one more review tonight since I am in a writing mood. Sorry for the inconvenience. I'll be posting a list soon of books that I will be reviewing in February. It's just been one of those months but I'll get back on track as soon as I can.

The Legacy of Kilkenny by Devyn Dawson

The Legacy of Kilkenny (The Legacy, #1)The Legacy of Kilkenny by Devyn Dawson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Summary: Abel a boy who thought he was ordinary until he met Pru. Pru had a vision...A vision of Abel as the Great Wolf. Now it is up to Pru to convince and prepare Abel of his future role which includes...Killing him. Pru must make Abel's family believe he is dead so that he may fulfill his role as the Great Wolf. Now not only does Abel have the weight of being the future Alpha of all the packs he learns that not only are there werewolves but there are vampires...And one has a hold on his sister. As Abel struggles with his his sister he also struggles with the unrequited feelings for Pru who prefers her bodyguard Oakley. A prophecy, love triangle, and duty this novel has it all.



The good; This book is definitely not your average werewolf story. It's filled with love triangles, otherworldly creatures, death and prophecies. The characters were well thought out and they interacted as realistically as they could in a book like this. The love drama was not how I expected it to be. You think one thing will happen because it ends up that way in every other book with situations like this but instead it ends up opposite with an unexpected love interest twist. I never thought a book could escape what is expected and still leave the reader happy. This book basically revolves around abel but the author was able to do that and was able to include a good deal about the other characters. which less face it... You know you're dying to know what some of the others are thinking and in this book you get just that.





The Bad: I had few issues with this book but there are some things I would like to mention. First of all the book was a bit hard to get into. It started off slow but once you get past that it's pretty good. Second...Abel... I like his character but...I felt like he could have had more depth. He sort of just accepted everything. Once in a while he would do things against people's wishes but I mean...There's nothing really to him. He doesn't even try to fight for a few of the things he wants. He just accepts his role quickly and jumps right in. When it comes to the people he loves he takes certain risks... But that's it. When it comes to himself... There's just nothing really there..He doesn't start to really show any promise till the end of the book but by then I was annoyed with his character and felt more drawn to Pru and Oakley. I wanted to be drawn to this "Great Wolf" who is supposed to end up being head honcho but I just didn't feel it. I cared more about minor characters.



Overall Opinion Honestly this was a great book. I had issues with Abel's character and it was a tad slow in the beginning but this book was worth the read. If you like werewolves and vampires and other creatures then I suggest this book.



View all my reviews

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

A Demon Made Me Do It by Penelope King Review



A Demon Made Me Do It (Demonblood  Series #1)A Demon Made Me Do It by Penelope King
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Description: Seventeen-year-old Liora Greyson has never been a "normal" girl. Born of a demon father and a human mother, she's what's known in the underworlds as a "demion".

Liora just wants to survive her senior year of high school, her dark secret intact. But the walls she's carefully constructed to keep people away crack wide open once she meets the sexy and mysterious Kieron Ambrose. The more she falls for him, the more worried she becomes. She can't let him find out she transforms into demon named Lucky at dusk...a demon with an entirely separate personality who spends her nights drinking, tormenting humans, slaying unsuspecting demons, and lusting after her gorgeous and unattainable incubus/hellhound BFF.

But it turns out Kieron has a few dark secrets of his own. Secrets that will either save Liora...or completely destroy her.

Fighting your demons is one thing. Having one who fights back, messes with your guy, and leaves you with nasty hangovers is total hell.



The good: This book is unlike any demon book I have ever read. The concept of it is amazing. Not only did King create a whole other world she created unique characters and creatures. Who would have ever thought the concept of angels and demons could be so complicated. Liora the main character is unique all on her own. She's already half human and half demon by birth but something happens to make her even more different. Her soul is split in two for reasons I will not mention but this causes her to have two whole different lives. Her human life and her Demon life. The feelings that each side have towards each other give for an interesting take on her character as a whole. On top of that throw in a whole other world that gives a whole different way to view demons and beings of light. Not to mention the two sexy guys thrown into the drama of Liora having two different personalities and lives; gives a whole different spin on the story. This book is like a roller coaster ride and not a bad one either.

The Bad The only bad thing I can say about this book is I felt it was a bit slow at the beginning and hard to get into. Other than that I had no problems with it.

Overall opinion This book was amazing. It's hard to find a book that doesn't play off of other concepts that have been used before. I received this book as a R2R and I was kind of skeptical about reading it. I honestly felt like every type of demon story has been covered but boy was I wrong. I honestly want to go out and buy this book and the second one (Which I have yet to read but I can't wait to!). I highly recommend this book. I love a good book that can use the regular world and then create a whole different world within the same story. It has all the good things of a fantasy novel with the mixture of a modern YA romance novel. If you like Twilight, Vampire Academy, The Iron Fey, any novel on that line; then you will like this book.

Update

I'm currently finishing up reading "A Demon Made Me do It". Review will be up in the next two days at the latest.

On another note. I was able to receive The Legacy of Kilkenny By Devyn Dawson from goodreads to review. Since I have a deadline I will be reading and reviewing that as soon as I'm done with my current book. I'm hoping to have both reviews done by Sunday.

If I finish all of the reviews before the month is up I might review one or two more books. I just have to wait and see how well my time spreads out.

I'll try to keep my blog updated with future book reviews and posts.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

List of January Book reviews.

Okay okay. I know this is the third post in like the past couple of hours but I'm just getting this blog running so it requires work.


January Book Review List:


A Demon Made me do it By Penelope King (Review should be here soon.)
Grey Eyes By B. Alston
The Legacy of Kilkenny By Devyn Dawson*
Unicorn Bait By S.A. Hunter
The Iron King By Julie Kagawa
Touch of Frost By Jennifer Estep


* R2R from goodreads have yet to know if I will be receiving book




On another note, next month will have more reviews since I will be having a full month to read and review.

First review. Posted on goodreads as well.


Blood Warrior (The Alexa Montgomery Saga #1)Blood Warrior by H.D. Gordon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Summary:
17 year old Alexa is forced to leave her mother in order to save her sister from Vampires. She is thrown into a world full of Vampires and werewolves only to learn she is a warrior. This warrior side of her seeks blood. Not only does she have to struggle with her nature but she senses that the world she's entered isn't all it's cracked up to be. Between the gladiator style fights her new school has and her undeniable attraction to Kayden, she's finding it hard to trust anyone including herself.

The Good: The character Alexa has a strong personality but at the same time she is vulnerable. Her relationship with her and the other characters keep the book interesting. The action in the book makes you want to keep turning the pages. The world that Gordan has created is very complex. The way Vampires are presented in this book is different than other vampire novels. The romance in this book isn't over the top like other vampire novels have been seeming to do lately. Kayden's character is everything you'd expect a strong brooding vampire to be. The plot of the story is great and it's almost everything I expected it to be when I read the book (Which is a good thing).


*******************Spoiler Alert************************
The Bad: As much as I hate to say this...Some parts of the book screams Vampire Academy Rose Alexa the strong warrior who would do anything for her sister Lissa Nelly who is soft spoken but has a willingness to fight for those she loves. Adrian Tommy, the rich boy who has feelings for Alexa and gives her money and a car and let's her know he's there for her. Her mother who is every bit the fighter she is. Her best friend Jackson is basically in love with her while she's secretly in love with Kayden who is 5 years her senior and is like a god in the arena. Oh and some of the moments between them are like deja vu. Then let's get to the bad guys. Lamia who are evil vampires with twisted souls who are after the other species of vampires and supernaturals for their blood. Throw all this into a school where Vampires are trained to protect the other species from Lamia. On top of that there are villages where there are undesirables who give blood to other vampires and are unltimately hidden from view just like the bloodwhore societies in VA. And of course Kayden has a sister and a niece in one of these villages. Surprise Surprise. Then you throw in the hierarchy of the whole vampire city and it's like the outline to Vampire Academy.

********************End of Spoiler**********************

Overall View Despite it resembling Vampire academy this book was honestly good and the idea of it was worth the read. This book could be the book for you if you like romance thrown in with a strong heroine who can take care of herself. If you're willing to look past it's similarities to the other series I can promise you that you will like this book. I gave it four stars because I believe that the over effect of the book was great it just irked me that I kept comparing it to Vampire Academy. The idea is not a copy of that series but I feel like it's hard to write a book about something similar without straying towards similar outcomes with characterization. Overall I enjoyed this book and would read it again. I would also recommend it to friends.


New.

So I'm new to this whole blogging experience. I'm going to keep it simple. I've decided to make a blog where I can review books that I've read on them. I plan on being honest with my reviews so expect negative and positive comments while reading. I'm the type of person who loves books and can find a good aspect in the worst of books. Reviews are a matter of opinion so just forewarned when reading a review can be helpful it can also harm your view of a book. So read at your own risk :].